Wisdom Tetter

Buddham Saranam Gacchami – I take refuge in the Buddha (Enlightened One)
Dhammam Saranam Gacchami– I take refuge in the Dharma (Teachings of Enlightened One)
Sangham Saranam Gacchami – I take refuge in the Spiritual Community (Satsang)

The above prayers are the Triratnas or Three Jewels of Buddhism which form the base for the attainment of Buddhatva or Enlightenment. One aspect which is common and central to these Triratnas is that of Sharanagati i.e., taking refuge and surrendering oneself to a higher entity. This quality of surrenderness holds great importance not just in Buddhism or for Buddhists, but also in the life of all aspirants desirous of their spiritual evolution because until we truly surrender, we cannot realize or experience our true Self and attain Moksha. It is surrenderness which liberates us and it is through surrenderness only that our true identity is revealed to us.

Along with surrenderness; compassion, detachment from the result of desire, acceptance of sufferings and following the middle path i.e., evolving spiritually without renouncing the world are the other important tenets preached by Lord Buddha to lead an enlightened life. This Buddha Purnima let us express our gratitude to Lord Buddha by adopting his teachings, imbibing his virtues and making attainment of Buddhatva the primary goal of our life.

Sadguru Ramesh ji
House of Enlightenment

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on pinterest
Share on email